Order by phone:  1.888.253.0230
Join Our Mailing List
Sign up to receive exclusive offers and discounts via email!
Browse
New Arrivals
Best Sellers
CD & DVD Products
Maps & Globes
Sky Atlases
Star Wheels (Planispheres)
Calendars & Almanacs
Magazine Issues
Test Reports
Books
Classroom Resources
Posters & Spotlight Prints
Sale & Clearance
Magazine Subscriptions
Know the Night Sky

View Product Reviews


The Complete Sky & Telescope: Seven Decade Collection

The Complete Sky & Telescope: Seven Decade Collection


Part No. SKY7COMBO
« Return to product
"S&T 7 Decade Collection: A Value to the Collector" Product Rating:
Posted By:  John Sillasen Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-17 17:37:24
Comments:
This is the complete S&T collection on DVD with one volume being the search index to them all. You can search individual volumes too so don't let that part sway you from purchasing it. If for example you know what you want to find happened in the last 10 years, you can search the last disk just as easily. Wish I could give it a 4.5 but it had to be just less than a 5 for only one reason - speed. Everything runs from disk. I wish there were an install or copy process so I could put the whole set on an external hard drive for example - that would make it go faster. The search screens are all via a web page with the results popping up in another web page that takes you to yet another web page. Takes a bit to get used to that. Your searches will search through ads too which is fantastic but redundant entries for the same ads will get in the way after awhile. You'll start to recognize the ads though - same text over and over so you can sort through them and get to the articles more quickly after a fashion. Page turning is like an online catalog - that's pretty nice too. There are page buttons as well. All in all, a value to the amateur astronomy community, which means that it will be a bit pricer than say, National Geographic digital archives. We're a smaller community. Each page is rendered on the fly so there's no PDF to copy and e-mail - you have to have your own copy. You can print articles but you can't share one with your friends. I do worry that overtime the disks will be misplaced or collect dust. That's why the 4 rating - speed and the lack of an install to an archival disk. Otherwise a good, not great value for the astronomy community. It is great to be able to read the stories of 40 years ago, though. Get this as a gift for yourself or hint to your significant other - yes, you know you want it. Plus it takes up a whole lot less space than your printed collection stored out in the garage now doesn't it?
"Seven Decade Collection" Product Rating:
Posted By:  John Jankauskas Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-17 18:33:33
Comments:
Easy to use after a little practice. Nice to have all the info in a compact form.
"Seven Decade Collection DVDs" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Bill Wilson Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-17 18:36:59
Comments:
I am very pleased with the collection. It's wonderful to be able to find any article over the entire history of Sky & Telescope and to search for topics across the decades. I highly recommend it to any astronomer, amateur or professional. The only reason I didn't give the collection the top rating is that the pages of the magazine often appear to have been somewhat underexposed in scanning. The pages are a light gray instead of white, and some photos (not all by any means!) are a bit too dark. This is a minor flaw and is easy to forget when reading an article.
"The Complete Collection, 7 Decades of Sky and Tele" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Mike M Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-17 18:40:38
Comments:
Phenomonal! The more I use it the better it gets. Having such a vast, useful, and enjoyable resource at my fingertips is incredible...and the pages will never dry up, tear, or yellow! This product is a grand-slam.
"Sky & Telescope: Seven Decade Collection" Product Rating:
Posted By:  KS Observer Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-17 18:55:25
Comments:
Very pleased to see S&T come out with this collection. I began my subscription in the late 60's and many years ago pieced together most of the paper issues from the mid 50's. For the early years that I couldn't get, I bought the 35mm microfilm. The problem with paper is search and retrieval, and this always limited the usefulness of my collection. The DVDs solve these issues. Reproduction on my iMac is great, and having the DVDs work on both Windows/Mac is much appreciated. The "Print Issue PDF" shows up in descriptions, but I understand that option has been turned off. Pricing for the set is very reasonable IMO.
"S&T 7 decade collection" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Glen Moore Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-17 19:23:02
Comments:
I have original copies from the 60s and I really treasure them. I like the feel of paper but the shelf space is a problem. I love this compact format and I am particularly keen on the search function which is available. It would be great if purchasers of this set were presented with an option to get an annual update.
"The Complete Sky & Telescope: Seven Decade Collect" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Juan Ustaran Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-17 20:55:19
Comments:
Very nice compilation, very easy to use.
"70 years of Sky & Telescope" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Kohji Itoh Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-18 00:57:33
Comments:
It is very exciting to read the Sky & Telescope magazine issued at just the same time, January 1947 as I was born. The reading quality of each pages is excellent due to recent high resolution power of new digital cameras. Strongly recommended to every serious readers of the Sky & Telescope. Thanks.
"Review 2" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Dale Cruikshank Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-18 09:52:06
Comments:
The overall quality of the reproduction is high and the text is easy to read. I find that it is inconvenient to turn the pages using the cursor to catch the corner and then drag it all the way across the screen--even with my very wide screen, this is sometimes a two-step process for each page. I have printed a few pages and the quality is very good. In terms of the overall convenience of having the entire collection in only a few inches of shelf space, the value of this DVD edition is great. I have a complete, bound set of the hard copy issues (yes, all the way back to issue #1), and while it is enormously heavy and occupies several feet of shelf space, I still prefer to pick up a bound volume and page through it, either in search of a particular article, or just browsing. The new index in the DVD edition is very, very valuable, and I have already used it several times. In summary, the DVD edition is well done and is of great value, but I still love my bound volumes. DPC
"Easy to use and browse" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Charles Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-18 10:50:09
Comments:
When I first opened the DVD I was a bit confused on how it would work, but imagine my surprise when I read the instruction sheet (a pdf when you run the disc) and everything is spelled out right there. Once I followed the directions, it was easy to browse the issues and I've relished through the entire 1950's collection so far this week. I'm trying to go in order so that I can relish each decade. THANK YOU Sky & Telescope for putting this together.
"What a great collection!" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Simon Rohrer Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-18 16:16:11
Comments:
Great to have all the issues on seven DVDs! A dream became true for me! Easy to navigate with Mac OS 10.4.11. White text on dark background is difficult to read. Some white pages are a bit grey.
"Capturing the Memories Again!" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Bob Wolpert Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-18 17:27:04
Comments:
Many moves over the last 10 years made it necessary to reduce the size of my library, and my entire Sky & Telescope collection (back to the 1940's) had to be sold off in 2001. This S&T collection is liking having an old family member return home. I was surprised to see the collection in html form, but it works well and is very intuitive. Like most astronomers, I hate to read instructions, and I found no need to look at directions with the 7-decade collection. I appreciate that the entire issue is reproduced just as it was originally printed, including the advertisements. Other than just browsing through memories, it's particularly useful in finding all the articles written over the years regarding a particular deep sky object, star, piece of equipment, etc. There's now a wealth of information just a click away. I had trouble printing pages when using Firefox. After it locked up my browser twice in a row, I switched to Internet Explorer and had no problem. The printed pages have a light-gray background instead of white. It would be nice if the background was white, but I can live with the gray. I haven't tried changing my printers to "PDFCreator" before printing, but if this works, it would be a great asset. The program is not speedy, but it's fast enough to not be a concern or annoyance. Overall, I think this is a great addition to any library - and it requires only 6" of shelf space!
"Extremely Disappointing" Product Rating:
Posted By:  John Tipton Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-18 18:59:26
Comments:
I just received my set today and was extremely disappointed in the quality of the product. The first disk I inserted in my laptop wouldn't read properly. There seemed to be a problem with the center part of the disk not fitting properly in the drive. I've never had any problems with any other DVD disk I've played in this drive. The second disk I inserted worked okay but was very noisy. Again, something I've never experienced with any other DVD I've played in this drive. They both played okay in my desktop DVD dirve which doesn't use the center hole to spin the disk. The worse problem, however, was the quality of the scans. The scans are very dark, with a gray background instead of white. This makes many pages very hard to read. Pages (text and images) don't print out on a laser printer very well because of the dark gray background. It is also very hard to see a lot of the pictures. They show up way too dark to see any detail. Since the images are a major part of many of the articles, this really detracts from the value of the product. It also makes the ability to print out an article as a reference useless for many types of articles. I was also disappointed in the Index disk. All it does is provide a search function by key words for the entire collection. I assumed the index would at least contain the Table of Contents for each issue. It would be nice to scan the contents of the complete collection without inserting a different disk or disks for each decade and having to go through each issue one at a time. I've only opened the Index disk and the 2000 decade disks, so I can't comment on any of the other decades. But apparently there are other issues with blurry text for some of the earlier decades. I'm going to sleep on it, but right now I'm very tempted to return the product for a refund. It's too bad, since a lot of effort was apparently spent on this product. But the scanning process or scanner used certainly didn't do justice to what would/could have been a great product. Most certainly not worth $250. National Geographic did a similar project 10 years ago for 112 years worth of issues. The scanned background was white and text very easy to read. Pictures were superb; clear, bright and colorful. This was using scanning technology available 10 years ago. And the cost was less than half what the Sky and Telescope collection costs. Really too bad S&T spent so much time and effort producing such a poor product.
"First Impressions" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Frank Goodwyn Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-18 21:29:30
Comments:
First Impressions: 1. Files are hard to read. 2. No way to download files to PDF. 3. Not much reason for the index disk. Nevertheless, it is a valuable resource and I don't regret buying it.
"Highly Recommended" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Mike Scura Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-19 10:31:56
Comments:
S&T has produced an absolutely superb DVD archive consisting of all issues from the very first in November, 1941 up to and including December, 2009. The decades of the 40s, 50s, 60s & '70s are each on a single DVD, with the 80s, 90s & 00s spread over 2 DVDS each. There is an additional DVD consisting entirely of a search index, which returns the issue dates for which the search subject will be found. Each decade, as well as each individual issue, also includes its own search engine. This makes it very easy to readily locate specific subjects within the vast archive. The individual issues are laid out in an e-reader format with all the standard buttons for next page, previous page, zoom (very important) etc. The issues themselves are very clear & precise copies (page by page) of the hardcopy originals (there are Unitron ads circa 1960 that I remember seeing as a kid!). In addition to the buttons, one can turn pages by moving the mouse near the page edges/ corners & the page turns as though one were reading a hardcopy. Navigation is therefore very intuitive (a short user guide is included covering installation & navigation, if needed). To alleviate having to continually change the DVDs in the DVD/ROM drive, I copied all 11 to an external hard drive; thus all components of the archive are in one location. This also increased search & navigation speeds. The original discs now serve effectively as backups. (The entire archive is about 53.4GB consisting of over 304K files spread among over 9K folders). This archive is a priceless treasure trove: the tribute to Albert Einstein in the June, 1955 issue, the article on Otto Struve in June, 1963, the Apollo program coverage from the late 60s to early 70s, to name but a very few. It will take many pleasure filled years to carefully explore it all. Hopefully, every several years S&T will update the archive with additional DVDs.
"A wonderful collection" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Carlos Moriarty Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-19 14:30:14
Comments:
This collection is what i was looking for. A complete recopilation of articles, reviews and informations published in the monthly S&T issues for years. Maybe the image quality is not the best but is a great stuff for all the astronomers, both amateurs and professionals. Highly recommended.
"Hours of Convenient Browsing, But..." Product Rating:
Posted By:  Tom Koonce Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-19 15:06:38
Comments:
Pros: The collection provides easy access. Every page and every advertisement is scanned. Interesting highlighted articles along the left margin of the main menus. Cons: Scans are of a much lower resolution and of a lower contrast for the early issues than I expected for the amount of money this collection cost. Some early issue pages are even difficult to read because of blurriness. I expected that text would appear crisp. I am more than moderately disappointed. I rate it 3 out of 5 stars because even though it is a convenient resource, it is not of the quality I had come to expect from previous Sky & Telescope publications. I hope that version 1.1 fixes these issues, and that an update is made available quickly to the people who purchase the initial release.
"Pleasantly Surprised" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Eugene M. Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-19 15:08:59
Comments:
I was not sure what to expect from the Complete SKY DVD Collection. As an avid astrologist and SKY subscriber, my suspicions on the product were not based upon the content I have seen produced by SKY & Telescope in the past, but rather on the format the extensive material would be illustrated in. To my delight the DVD collection is not only easy to navigate through but also user-friendly in every aspect. Beautiful images, clear text and insightful articles make this collection a rare gem. Looking forward to another 7 decades with SKY & Telescope. Regards, E
"Complete S&T weighs less than a pound!" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Retiring Astronomer Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-19 17:08:50
Comments:
As an S&T subscriber for about half a century, I've been storing the magazines in the basement, carefully taped (and retaped, and retaped ...) into paper bags, digging into them as needed. Not an ideal way to handle them, I admit, but it worked, and they stayed in pretty good condition (there have been no catastrophes in the basement, thank goodness). However, my coming retirement next year means a move across the country -- paying to haul a few hundred extra pounds of paper 2500 miles does not appeal to the skinflint in me. So, the prospect of having all of S&T on DVD struck me as a splendid idea. And, for the most part, it is. All the magazines are here, packaged into a neat little slipcase that weighs around a pound. This not only makes the future shipping easier on the checkbook (even factoring in the cost of the DVDs), but also makes it far easier to dig out the articles that I will want to read again. I'm especially thinking of Scotty Houston's decades of Deep Sky Wonders, and Otto Sturve's many splendid reviews that taught me basic astronomy as a teenager. (Speaking of Deep Sky Wonders, it would be fascinating to plot the magnitude of the deep sky objects mentioned in the columns versus calendar date -- there certainly aren't many faint objects mentioned in the 40s, 50s, and 60s when our telescopes were considerably smaller than they are now.) There are some annoyances with the DVD set -- minor, but still things that bother me. First, the search engine with the separate index disk does not store itself in memory in a way that will recognize the individual data disks when they are dropped in the DVD drive (or, if there is, I haven't found it yet). So, yes, a search for "Walter Scott Houston" on the index disk pulls up all the occurances of Scotty's name in the magazines -- but you have to search again in the specific decade, year, or magazine to get to the article itself. I also find the click-and-hold page-turning mechanism difficult to use -- I quickly learned to ignore it and flip pages with the menu buttons at the top of the window. Maybe a machine faster than my 3GHz PC would make this cute feature smoother and quicker. I'll find out with my next computer, obviously. Another thing that could be quicker and smoother is the magnification. The unmagnified text isn't quite clear enough to read easily (yes, a monitor bigger than my 19-inch flat screen would probably help; those of you who have them may not have this problem). The contrast setting is also too low for my comfort, even after fiddling with my monitor's brightness and contrast controls. The default contrast seems to be a compromise between readability of the text and visibility of detail in the images. Neither looks very good to me -- the text is too faint for easy reading, and the images too contrasty for optimum visual impact. Also, some of the double-page spreads are "broken" in the middle -- the text/image is shifted from one page to the next up or down by a significant percentage of the type size, so looks awkward. I haven't found any cases yet, though, where text is actually lost. It just looks weird. Finally, the interface is slower than I'd expected based on my experiences with other DVD-based databases that I've used on the same machine. Having the magazines available as simple PDF's may have speeded things up, I think, at least for the way I intend to use them. Again, maybe a faster computer with more than 2GB of memory might help. I suspect the higher bus speeds of current machines will help, so those of you with all the latest and greatest may not have speed problems. As I mentioned above, my next computer will answer this question. But I have to say it again -- these are minor grumbles compared to the overall experience. It's all here! And it is going to be cheap to move! (The paper magazines, by the way, went to a local library for a "friends" sale. The librarian said things like, "Oh my goodness" and "We'll try." And no, I haven't asked how they did. It's just better to not know some things, isn't it?) If you need the seven decades of S&T, and have problems similar to mine with paper storage, this is clearly the way to go. Buy this elegant set and enjoy the history of modern astronomy conveniently. And plan your next move around the weight of your computer, not a stack of paper!
"Worth The Money" Product Rating:
Posted By:  George Kohl Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-21 19:16:17
Comments:
I have been a long time reader of S&T. I have a hard copy collection going back to 1970. I really like having the magazine in a digital format. The search feature works good. I recently had a problem with ccd camera software not working with my 64 bit operating system. But this collection works with 32 and 64 bit operating systems. For 30 cents a issue it is well worth the money.
"Well Done" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Mike Coucke Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-22 10:00:08
Comments:
A monumental task extremely well done! The index alone has proven to be the most valuable item in the collection. I'm now debating whether or not to keep all of the hard copies I've retained since 1962.
"Kudos to S&T" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Thomas W. Wilson Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-22 15:39:11
Comments:
I have paper copies of Sky & Telescope complete from 1946 to date with a few scattered issues before 1946 (also a few scattered copies of The Sky and The Telescope). They take up significant shelf space as well as added weight and I have been transferring the issues from the 1970s on to boxes in the basement. It is nice to have all the issues taking up just a few inches space with miniscule weight. I can now dispose of most of the paper copies ( I may keep the older ones) as I did all those National Geographics which I gave to the local library when I acquired them on CD-Rom. Also, searching all that content has suddenly become vastly easier! Overall, I am very pleased with this new set. While I am not a big fan of reading on a computer monitor I can live with that in this case. I have many books on CD-Rom either purchased or downloaded from Google (many old and rare books) and the same with regard to space, etc. applies to them since, having over 2,000 books, I am long short on space with that regard! I have most of the volumes, most bound, of Popular Astronomy published from 1893 until 1951 as well as other journals and it would be nice to have them digitized as well. I began my subscription to S&T with the July, 1953 issue between my junior and senior year in high school and have always considered it to be the premier popular astronomy magazine being published today so thanks, S&T, for giving me complete and convenient access to your archive at a reasonable price. I highly recommend it!
"excellent!" Product Rating:
Posted By:  DR SUSHRUT PATEL Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-22 23:36:28
Comments:
set of DVD is very easy to operate. It is very nicely arranged. Latest technique. Old issues of Sky & Telescope are treasure of history of astronomy.I enjoy this. Thanks!
"A hint to other users -" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Marc McCain Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-23 13:10:48
Comments:
I've seen a couple of comments on turning the pages, and I have to agree the "grab and pull" feature is next to useless. Tip; use the left/right arrows on the keyboard - no mouse, no click, no drag...easy!
"Sky and Telescope DVD" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Joseph Jaworski Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-24 05:11:50
Comments:
I have now received the complete Sky and Telescope Seven Decade Collection and have managed to have a cursory view. The discs work well and it is very easy to call up any edition to view. It has given me the opportunity to look at some of the early editions which are interesting even though there are no digital cameras or go to telescopes. It will be very good for researching articles in editions that are now lying unsorted in the attic. I received the DVDs within two weeks of ordering which I consider to be very good as I live on the opposite side of the Atlantic Ocean. I have consistently received good service from Sky and Telescope. My complements to the staff.
"Great DVD Collection" Product Rating:
Posted By:  erwin Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-24 11:09:37
Comments:
Since some years i'm reading the S&T and the german " Sterne und Weltraum " ( - stars and space - the german equivalent to S&T- I'm living in germany ). I like very much the feel of paper, so I buy for myself through the years the complete collection of S&W, my dream to have also the complete collection of S&T seems to me unrealistic , until now. I buyed the cmplete DVD archive, was verry excited as it arrived, tried the first DVD. I was surprised to see the collection in html form and not in pdf. Also was a little disappointed of the quality in comparison to what i was used to from S&T. To turn the pages using the cursor I find it verry inconvenient. As same the "Print Issue PDF" shows up in descriptions is missing. No way to download files to PDF. But with all these contras its still remain a great collection and I don't regret buying it. I appreciate verry much that the entire issue is reproduced just as it was originally printed, including the advertisements, and hope that from now on every several years of S&T will be availabel on additional DVDs to complete these superb archive. THANK YOU for putting this together and make a dream came through.
"Thank You, S&T" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Leonard Gordon Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-27 22:33:51
Comments:
First, I have to say, "Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, S&T for a job that overall has been "Well Done". Having read the previous reviews, I really cannot improve on the "pros/cons" mentioned except to say that I largely agree with the "pros", and believe that most of the "cons" can be worked-around. When data/information is digitized almost anything can be achieved. In fact, with this presentation of a 70-year data/information goldmine, I would expect to see some future issues of S&T contain, e.g., articles from readers showing how they transferred the S&T archive to hard drives in order to decrease access times (although I expect that their might be some copyright issues involved), etc. Later, I would not be surprised to see some of our amatuers collate data/information from the S&T annals on some asteroid, moon. star, planet, cluster, or nebula, and come-up with an article, or two. Bottom line for me, I still like my monthly paper issues (although I also like the idea of saving a tree in the forest), and turning the pages myself, but for historical value I prefer the DVD (even though the uncertainty of the direction that technology will take tomorrow may obsolete the DVD by next year).
"Disappointed" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Ron Kaitchuck Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-29 14:26:04
Comments:
I have over 40 years of S&T stored in my basement. They take up a lot of room and they are difficult to search. I was hopeful that this new digital library would allow me to pass the paper copies on to someone else and reclaim some room. I already subscribe to digital magazines so I was expecting something of comparable quality. This isn't it. This seems to a collection of low-resolution scans. The text looks slightly blurred and often has a gray background. Enlarging the image does not help. The viewer software is primitive by today's standards. The digital PC Magazine has a much superior viewer. The search engine is slow and there are no links from the table of contents to a particular article. You just have to page forward or search. Either is slow. I could easily excuse the slow speed if the articles appeared sharp with good color reproduction, but this is not the case. I am a long and loyal S&T reader, so I am sorry to say that this product is a disappointment.
"TREASURE CHEST" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Danny L. Cosat Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-08-29 14:29:42
Comments:
I have read the other reviews and I agree that this set of DVDs does have some issues. I can overlook them though, besause this is an ABSOLUTE TREASURE CHEST of information, history, discovery and observation. In The sixties I survived the rickety 60mm, 454 power, dime-store refractor. I had no mentor but there was a school library and there was S&T! Astronomy?? He'll get over it! Then finally, I received a subscription to S&T as a birthday gift. Hey, $7.00 was big money back then. I was already hooked. Walter Scott Houston reeled me in. And now, to have every "Deep Sky Wonders" at my fingertips ..... As they say on the TV commercials, PRICELESS. P.S. Sue French: You've done a super job carrying the torch. For nearly fifty years I've been all about visual observation. From the very casual with binoculars - wide doubles, contrasting star colors and the brighter nebulae - to pushing the limits with "anonymous" galaxies, Hickson groups or Abell galaxy clusters. Try this visual observers: Search "Coma Cluster" (Abell 1656)in the complete index. WOW! Is that enough information for you? Okay, more timely: For this time of year, some other favorites are NGC 891 and Abell 426. Is there anything that I have looked at, or have yet to look at, that hasn't found it's way onto the pages of Sky and Telescope? AND IT'S ALL RIGHT HERE IN MY HAND! Thank You S&T!
"Recommended and very useful" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Sanley Taylor Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-09-10 18:36:45
Comments:
Sky & Telescope has created an electronic edition of the magazine. Basically, the DVD collection is a set of JPG images of good resolution. The included software formats them into an issue. PDFs are easy to create, using for example PDF Converter Professional. For best results, save the collection onto a portable hard drive, which significantly reduces access time. This is a massive collection, 50.8 GB, so swapping disks would be too time consuming and cumbersome. An editon on a hard drive (like National Geographic) would be nice.
"Dissapointed in no PDFs" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Harry McGavran Location: 
Date Posted:  2010-10-06 21:39:09
Comments:
Since I use Linux almost exclusively, I much prefer compendiums like this in PDF format. I really don't care for products that require a special application when there are reasonably standard applications on all platforms for viewing documentation in published print format. Having Sky and Telescope available digitally is something I really would like. I ordered this set and the only way I can make this work on my Linux platform would be to install the specialized app under WINE. Perhaps Sky and Telescope will see fit to publish a PDF version of this, and I will buy it even though I already have this one. Having it highly indexed via html files is not something I want.
"Story's format" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Pier Luigi Turrini Location: 
Date Posted:  2011-04-13 11:35:36
Comments:
I didn't bought the collection, but I read enough comments to understand stories are not digitized as text. I am not going to bought the product unless I am sure about this format.
"Some good - some bad" Product Rating:
Posted By:  Albert Location: 
Date Posted:  2012-03-15 14:57:11
Comments:
The collection is advertised as "complete", but it isn't. I found missing sections in three issues already. S&T has not responded to my e-mails about the missing content - non-existent after-sales customer support. I also feel the same as other reviewers about the mediocre quality of the scans and clumsiness of the interface. That being said, I do appreciate the compactness of the DVDs.
1. Moon Globe
2. Deep Sky Wonders
3. Const Chart - Equatorial Reg
4. The Complete Sky & Telescope: Seven Decade Collection
5. The Telescope Digital Collection 1933-1941
6. The Sky Digital Collection 1936-1941
7. The Telescope & The Sky Complete Collections Bundle
8. Beautiful Universe 2012
ORDER BY PHONE:  1.888.253.0230  (Monday through Saturday, 8:30am - 9:00pm ET)
Customer Service
Product Customer Service Subscription Customer Service Shipping Information Account Login Site Map Wishlist Search Forgot your password?
Our Company
About Us Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy
 


Shop at Sky is upfront
© 2014 F+W All rights reserved.